Śladami historii...

The District Office

To facilitate supervision over Polish people in Wielkopolska, in 1887 the number of districts in the Poznań region was increased to 40. As a result, on 6 June 1887 the Gostyń District was created. At that time it had 38201 inhabitants and comprised the area of 601 km2. The average population density was 63.6 persons per km2. There were four towns in the district: Gostyń, Poniec, Krobia and Piaski, 80 village communes and 65 court areas. Borek and Pogorzela, together with the surrounding villages and courts were included in the newly-created Koźmin District. Also, the villages of Kunowo and Szczodrochowo were incorporated into the Śrem District, and Stężyca, Osowo and Dalabuszki to the Kościan District. All these villages were included into the Gostyń District in 1934.

On the district level the local self-government consisted of the district parliament, based on the class criteria, i.e. composed of the representatives of the noble class (owners of the so-called knight properties), bourgeois, and peasants. In 1890 a District Department was created in Gostyń, an executive agency of the district parliament. Six people, whose task was to cooperate with the state administration authorities in managing the district, composed the District Department. The first Gostyń District parliament was convened on 15 December 1887 in the chamber of the French Hotel, belonging to Jankiewicz. The seat of the district authorities was Gostyń. As regards the administrative order, it was divided into three police regions – i.e. Gostyń, Poniec and Krobia. By increasing the number of districts, the landrats (i.e. Heads of the District) got the task not only to guard the Polish, but also to discourage the Germans from emigrating westwards or Polonising. The district administration offices were the institutions concentrating the Germans socially as well , at least intelligentsia and junkers. The first Landrat (i.e. the Head of the District) was Jarosław Jarotzky, a Germanized Silesian from Opole, who held this position in the years 1887 – 1892. Dr. Richard Lucke succeeded him and governed the district till the Poles took over the power in 1919. The first Polish Head of the District, elected in 1919, was Wincenty Dabiński.

The existing building was erected in 1899-1900 and a few years later the southern wing was added.

The building has always served as the seat of the local government. It has been the District Office since 1999, when as a result of the administrative reform after 23 years districts were re-established.